Latest Car News in India

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

By Kriti Gupta

List of vehicles to be exempted from Delhi’s odd-even criteria

Delhi Car Pollution
The problem of pollution has strongly rooted its roots almost in every country across the world and scientists have clearly warned that if we do not take any sincere efforts to control the situation future scenario might be more destructive. The situation of pollution in Indian continent is also not very satisfactory even the national capital Delhi is suffering from the problem of pollution which is mainly because of 901 lakh vehicles registered and riding on Delhi roads. 
Delhi Odd Even Criteria

Also Read:

Diesel Luxury Cars and SUVs banned in Delhi by Supreme Court.

The matter of concern is that despite of various attempts adopted the ruling government’s problem of pollution has remained unchanged. Now with new state government AAP ruling the state a new strategy has been developed by government according to which vehicles with odd and even numbers would allowed for driving on alternate days of week.  As an impact of this rule non transport four wheelers numbers ending with odd figures (1,3,5,7 and 9) will not allowed be for driving on even dates (2,4,6,8,10, 12, 14 and so on) similarly non transport four wheelers with even numbers (0,2,4,6,8) will not be allowed for driving on odd dates (1,3,5,7 and 9). In the beginning this traffic rule will be applied for two weeks to understand its relevance and will be affected from 8 am to 8 pm on all working days but not on Sundays. Any vehicle owner found culprit for not following this rule will be penalized with fine of Rs 2,000 according to provisions of Sub- section (1) of Section 194 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. However government has exempted few mandatory and government vehicles from this rule. List of these vehicles is referred below:

1. Vehicles of the President of lndia

2. Vehicles of the vice-president of lndia

3. Vehicles of the prime minister of lndia

4. Vehicles of governors of states.

5. Vehicles of Chief Justice of lndia

6. Vehicle of the speaker of the Lok Sabha

7. Vehicles of Union ministers

8. Vehicles of the leaders of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha

9. Vehicles of chief ministers of states and Union Territories, except the chief minister of Delhi

10. Vehicles of the judges of the Supreme Court

11. Vehicle of the deputy chairman of the Rajya Sabha

12. Vehicle of the deputy speaker of the Lok Sabha

13. Vehicles of lieutenant-governors of Union Territories

14. Vehicles of the judges of the Delhi High Court

15. Vehicle of the Lokayukta

16. Emergency Vehicles, ie, ambulances, those belonging to the fire brigade, hospitals, prisons, hearses

17. Enforcement vehicles, ie, vehicles of the police, Transport Department GNCTD, vehicles authorised by the Divisional Commissioner GNCTD, paramilitary forces, etc.

18. Vehicles bearing Ministry of Defence number plates

19. Vehicles which have a pilot or escort

20. Vehicles of SPG protectees

21. Embassy Vehicles bearing CD numbers

22. Compressed Natural Gas-driven vehicles (these vehicles should prominently display a sticker saying "CNG Vehicle" on the front windscreen — issued by M/s lndraprastha Gas Ltd), electric vehicles, hybrid vehicles

23. Vehicles being used for medical emergencies

24. Women-only vehicles — including children of age upto 12 years travelling with them

25. Vehicles driven/occupied by handicapped persons.

Book A Test Drive

Click Here